Cultural Monument Hotel Restaurant Café Seebode
A short historical overview of the turbulent times our estate has gone through.
From 1903 to 1906 August Seebode built a wonderful hotel and restaurant and named it „The Spa House Seebode”.
The original hotel was furnished with 19 rustically decorated guest rooms which were even equipped with a telephone. There was a bell tower on the roof but unfortunately it had to be removed in 1942 due to its state of disrepair.
A great building came into existence offering a magnificent view over Marburg, Ebsdorfergrund and Amöneburgerbecken and on clear days even a glance of the “Hohen Meißner” mountain.
At the same time of the hotel construction a large stable building was erected where sheep and horses were kept and a small private house was built for Seebode himself or for the use of his employees.
The stones needed for the construction of the hotel and outbuildings were taken from the nearby quarry of which Seebode had become a co-owner. The delivery of the building materials was carried out by the local farmers from the Frauenberg by horse and cart.
Other amenities included a tennis court, a sunbathing lawn and a bobsleigh run in the winter months. A waggon (horse-drawn carriage) brought the guests from Marburg railway station to the Frauenberg and back on request.
This was sensational and a unique offer at that time!
The hotel soon became well known far and wide.
Guests came from near and far!
In 1937 son Richard Seebode and his wife Elisabeth took over the business.
Then came the war and post-war times left their mark and resulted in varying use of the estate: First used as a recreation home for the German Wehrmacht, then followed the occupation by the command staff of the American Army and in later times it became an old people’s home.
1950 The hotel was re-opened!
1986 Following the death of Richard Seebode, Jakob und Margarete Claar from Cappel purchased the entire estate and transferred the management to their two sons, Robert and Walter Claar.
This was the year when the estate was awarded the title Cultural Monument with special historical value by Marburg-Biedenkopf County.
1987 The re-opening of the hotel and restaurant was celebrated. With the participation of the German Trust for the Preservation of Historical Monuments the guest rooms and further hotel rooms were renovated and brought up to modern standards. A state-of-the-art kitchen, guest lounges and a conservatory with an open fireplace are the showcase of the hotel!
Robert Claar has been the holder and owner of the three-star hotel and restaurant for the last few years. In 2006 as part of the centennial celebrations the bell tower was reconstructed and represents the cultural landmark of the hotel.
Now Hotel Seebode has regained its original splendour.